Self Care

Hey Dolls!

I have tried to write this blog post so many times, it is kind of embarrassing. I love makeup and everything related to that genre, but I thought I would take a step back from makeup and tell you how to care for yourself. Self care does make a connection to what my blog is usually about, but I will talk about that later. If you would like to see my other blog posts, you can click here.

I know a lot of you are thinking that you are caring for yourself… And maybe you are right. There are many different ways to care for yourself. I got to the end of middle school and realized that I really struggle in this area. Self care to me, is eating every meal, getting enough sleep, and having time for yourself, among other very important things.

I am a workaholic. I get up at 6:30am, go to school, get all of my work done, and usually have homework. Somewhere along the way of doing this for years, I made it a habit to not eat until I got my homework done. This was okay in middle school, seeing that I only had one or two 15 minute worksheets to do. After a while, the work got harder, I no longer had my after school snack, and I was feeling more and more stressed out. I don’t think I ever skipped dinner, but this is just one example of how I am terrible at caring for myself. (Skipping an after school snack may not mean the world to you; you may not even have an after school snack. This is just an instance in which it affected my life more than it may have affected yours).

I could go on and on about other examples of how I do not take care of myself or some of my old bad habits, but I am not going to do that. What I am going to say to you is this: put yourself before your school work. This may be hard for you. I still have trouble with this. This is coming from a girl that hasn’t taken a day off or taken a sick day, in fear of missing something or being overwhelmed the next day with the stuff you missed. You are not alone.

Picture

Now, hear me out, I am not saying that you should skip school everyday and go to the salon instead. I am saying that if you need a day, then take a day. Stay at home and finish the homework that you are freaking out about. Eat all three meals. Put a face mask on and watch really bad reality TV, because you will love yourself at the end of the day.

Some of the most important things that I have learned over the years are things that I have figured out on my own. I have come to terms with my troubles with self care, and I try harder every day to fix my actions to succeed at loving myself. I hope you try too.

Things I have learned:

  1. It is absolutely okay to cry things out.
  2. Figure out your limits and boundaries. (This one took me a long time to understand on my own. What I really want to stress is this: I can handle this situation. I can do everything I need to do in this situation… But can I emotionally handle this situation?)
  3. It is okay to take a step back.
  4. This is my life and I have control.

Self care isn't selfish.....

As always, thank you so much for reading. If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, feel free to contact me. Let me know if you liked this different type of blog, and if you would like to see more! If you have any suggestions as to what I write about next, I would be happy to hear them!

Picture Credits:

Leave a Reply

